One down…

The first day of the FRI field trip has gone by in the blink of an eye.  As I contemplate the last 16 information-packed hours it seems two days have passed.   Story ideas are as abundant and overflowing as the Big Spring.

Learning forestry from the Spencer Lumber sawmill, Pioneer Forestry and J&G Logging was a fascinating experience – sawdust sprinkles and all.  My favorite part of the day was capturing the sound of the tree felling via my Marantz recorder.  The karst springs were also intriguing and Ranger O’Donnell was my favorite source with his bubbly humor.

Because I’m using this extra equipment I’ve quickly expanded my knowledge in terms of multitasking.  Hopefully by the end of this trip I will have mastered the trickery to carrying a long microphone cord, paying attention to sound levels, keeping up with the group and taking notes all at the same time.

by Gina Cook

Leave a Reply

