REFLECTION: Defining Agriculture in a New Way

Day Two. As our journey in southeast Missouri continues, I am more eager to gather information at each stop. This trip has made me realize that you can never learn enough.

Growing up in rural Illinois, I consider myself to be quite familiar with agriculture. Many people know agriculture to be cows, sows and plows, but it is so much more. Today I gained a new experience in the agricultural industry: cotton farming. I had no idea the Bootheel has the best average in Missouri for cotton. To be honest, I did not know what a cotton farm looked like until today.

Another stop along the way was East Prairie, Mo. We met with Milus Wallace, an East Prairie farmer; with a laugh, he discussed how the Corps would not tell people they have messed up. Wallace has a positive outlook even though he lost his home in the flood.

-Jessica England, Edited by Lauren Schad

Leave a Reply

