Reflection: rain or shine the story comes through

The final day of our muddy boots (and trust me they were muddy) expedition was the most challenging considering the bad weather that took place.

Major Korneliussen joined us on the bus to talk about the logistics of rebuilding the Birds Point levee.  As we ventured out to the levee it was obvious that my sound quality was not going to be great considering the hum of the bus’s engine.  Further technical issues arose as we went outside in the rain.  With my Marantz bagged up and microphone under an umbrella it was hard to concentrate on anything other than protecting the equipment, but I managed to get some good sound bites.

Although the rain created a challenge, I enjoyed having the chance to hear the Corps’ perspective.  It gave a more complete story and allowed me to make a better decision about what to feature in my future story on the issue.

by Gina Cook, Edited by Steven Rich

Leave a Reply

