Expectations of Hillgren Institute

By Anna Boiko-Weyrauch

I expect discovery.

The bus will bring us to the rushing water of the Missouri River and its surrounding farms, fields and towns.

When we alight, I expect to hear the ground squish underneath my boots.

I expect stories to emerge from observation, and narrative from curiosity. I expect hidden treasure in sources’ answers to our “silly” questions. I expect us to pick apart their off-hand remarks; to transform their stories into cinema, meaty with detail and heavy with context.

The Missouri River is a sinewy mass of politics, science, birds, levees, and mud.

I expect to wrestle in the thick of it and, hopefully, emerge with gold.

– Edited by Barbara Fomina

Leave a Reply

