Thoughts before departure

By all accounts, this weekend is going to be brutal, but I can’t say I’m feeling apprehensive. Maybe my senses are a little heightened, maybe I’m a little anxious — but not nervous. I expect a lot of information and a lot of competition between my classmates and I in gathering story material, but for the most part, I feel well-equipped to handle what is probably going to be a mad scramble.

One thing I will battle is the split mentality between being both a participant and a spectator. I haven’t yet mastered the balance required to observe an event from the outside-in while still taking an active part, but I guess this is another opportunity to refine that skill.

–Cade Cleavelin, edited by Brendan Gibbons

Leave a Reply

