Awaiting “The Trip”

by Cody Lee Heyveld

You know, Bill made the trip sound intimidating—not “lions, tigers and bears” kind of intimidating, but strict and confined. I’m a little worried it’s not going to be as “fun” as we all hoped.

I am excited to learn about the land. I am excited to learn about not just the trees but also the culture of the land—the cows, elk and apparently even an army base. I’m interested in seeing how these all will tie together (not as if they have to). I am just curious on how this is going to play out.

We’re bringing around 24 people, and I’m afraid so many might be a distraction. I don’t want it to affect my interest in beef production or forestry. I am here to learn, and I want to come up with a story that makes others interested as well.

I’m interested in the reaction of how people feel about the projected loss in beef farms. I want to know how this projection could change or even if it could change. This could affect so many people worldwide, and I want to make sure people know about it.

That being said, I want to make sure I can accomplish my story. I don’t think technology will distract me. I am more worried about everyone around us. I hope it’s fun. Prove me wrong, Bill.

Edited by Annette Jenkins & Caroline Murray

One response to “Awaiting “The Trip”

  1. Everyone’s definition of fun is different, but I believe this trip should be viewed as the equivalent of what it would be like to be on the job. Most journalists find it fun to uncover new ideas and concepts. I like the fact that you say you are on the trip to learn because sometimes the story we get is not the one expected.

Leave a Reply

