Chris Long has many expectations for field trip

by Chris Long

I knew this weekend would come; the trade for a shortened class. Three full days of reporting in the field with Bill Allen, the rest of the class and a cavalcade of professors on a bus to southern Missouri to report on the environment constitutes a pretty large step out of my comfort zone.

The coffee supply is rationed too.

There are things I’m excited see: the Ozark Mountains, miles of forests, John Schneller in his element.

I’m that curious to see Gary Grigsby on a nature hike. At the very least, there’s a realistic possibility I won’t be the most uncomfortable person on the trip. 

I heard a state of confusion is necessary for growth. I’m hoping to grow this weekend. 

So what do have to be nervous about? 

Let’s start with Mother Nature. The weather report for Rolla, Mo. calls for rain. How memorable would it be if it rained buckets on us? 

I’ve been on float trips before. Somehow I think there will be less Natural Light on this trip. Who knows, maybe Bill’s a real party-boy. 

Then there’s the issue of the farm, or ranch, or whatever the south of Missouri calls the place where beef comes from. I’ve never been on a farm, save for the petting zoo I went to in elementary school. This would hardly be considered my element. I’ve heard stories about how people have become vegetarians after seeing where their food comes from. Without going too far down that road, I can’t see a major personal paradigm shift. 

I’m excited to get back to nature. I honestly feel the majority of people in America don’t experience nature nearly often enough. I’m certainly no exception. 

There’s no doubt there’s a lot of work to accomplish but as the expression goes “when you’ve a lot to do, you get a lot done.” 

If you’re going to get a lot done, you might as well be outside.

Supervising Editor: Andy Brown

One response to “Chris Long has many expectations for field trip

  1. You are in for a treat, but take your rain jacket because I don’t think I’ve ever been on one of these trips when it didn’t rain.

Leave a Reply

