Wet Behind the Ears

by Annette Jenkins

Here I sit, in a room full of graduated journalism students. Terrified, I’m concerned I’ll have to work twice as hard to make a place for myself among everyone’s astounding knowledge in reporting. Tomorrow we head into the great beyond, boarding the “Mothership” for Fort Leonard Wood, then to the East Ozarks.

I’m not yet packed, and I haven’t checked the weather for the area yet. The last school-related field trip I attended was to the Barnum and Bailey Circus, when I was in the fifth grade. Apprehensive about my journalistic writing skills, I fear my professor will see my writing as juvenile. But I’m eager to learn—especially outdoors. Who knows what we’ll encounter on the military base or canoeing down the Current River. I’ll have my wits about me, that’s for sure.

I’m more excited about the fact field reporting is nothing I’ve ever done before. Challenges like this one always ignite imagination in my head. I’m ready to do something with all the skills I’ve learned in my agriculture journalism path.

With an open mind, a small notebook and an agriculture background in my back pocket, I’m ready for what this trip will throw my direction.

Edited by Cody Heyveld

One response to “Wet Behind the Ears

  1. The mothership is a little bit like a circus, but it’s great fun. Writing doesn’t have to be fancy to drive a point home. Keep it simple and let the experience speak for itself.

Leave a Reply

