Will I have any idea what is going on?

by Caroline Murray

I’ve always loved exploring, but I expect this will be a new adventure.

I have spent my fair share of time roaming through forests, streams and the like, and I love it. I get giddy over finding a cool leaf, and I will squeal with glee if I find a lizard. That is what brought me to this class. If I love being in the field so much, why wouldn’t I report on it?

Yet, as we talk about the 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. days we’ll have, I’m starting to get a bit concerned that I won’t be able to hang. I’m not particularly tough. I don’t always focus particularly well if I’m hot or tired. I was struggling at Sanborn Field. How am I going to be able to handle a full 12 hours of that kind of experience? I have never experienced nature as part of a professional obligation. Will I be able to “keep my head in the game,” as Bill said? Will I understand everything? Will I have any idea what is going on?

The light at the end of the tunnel is I’m here to learn. We’re going to spend the weekend with experts in the field, and they are going to have a lot of fascinating things to share with us. If I don’t understand something, I will have so many awesome people to ask. I have to remind myself that, though times of adversity will arise I’m sure, I’m going on this trip because this is what I love. This might be what I want to do. Let’s go!

Edited by Cody Heyveld

One response to “Will I have any idea what is going on?

  1. Being willing to ask questions is most of the battle. Keep engaged and you’ll be just fine.

Leave a Reply

