The Fire Tower Breaks Fear

photo credit: Cody Lee Heyveld

Gathering the courage to do such a terrifying thing really isn’t such an easy thing. I’m not afraid to die, but I am afraid of heights, and I did it anyway.

photo credit: Cody Lee Heyveld

I waited to spot an elk all day. Little did I know we were going to make a pit stop—and by pit stop I mean a ride up a bumpy gravel-road and an amazing hike to boot.

photo credit: Cody Lee Heyveld

There it was standing tall, but I jumped right in. I climbed the unknown wet, wooded stair case to nearly the top of a fire tower, crushing a very big fear of mine: heights.

photo credit: Russell Chapin

It made my day feel worth it, like I accomplished the world. Or maybe it was just because I could literally see what seemed to be like the entire state of Missouri.

Not only did I do it once, but I loved it so much I did it for a second round. I knew right there … this trip is totally worth it.

Edited by Alicia Stice

Leave a Reply

