More Than “Getting the Story”

photo credit Cody Lee Heyveld

photo credit: Cody Lee Heyveld

I realized Saturday how beautiful our landscape in Missouri is. I felt one with nature, for the first time in a long time. Sunday I dug deeper and started to see all the connections of the weekend-long adventure.

I traced the connections between water quality, trees, insects and cattle. Each time we reviewed the topics, something new came up.

photo credit Cody Lee Heyveld

photo credit: Cody Lee Heyveld

Rebecca Landewe, Current River project manager, mentioned the importance the nature we have in Missouri. It was the light bulb I needed.

“I see my job as protecting the last ‘great places,’” Landewe said. “[The Nature Conservancy] doesn’t take the advocacy approach. We know we are a part of nature. To think we’re outside of the fence and nature is on the inside is just wrong. That’s our job, to bring down that fence.”

photo credit Cody Lee Heyveld

photo credit: Cody Lee Heyveld

It made me realize that my job as a journalist is more than “getting the story.” It’s about capturing the experience and serving it communities through their TV screens.

Leave a Reply

